CoCountant Review (2026): Pricing, Public Reviews & Better Alternatives
CoCountant offers controller-led bookkeeping services across three subscription tiers — Launch, Scale, and Command — designed for businesses that want senior-level oversight on their books. In this blog, we provide an objective review of CoCountant, compare it with Maxim Liberty, and outline the key differences to help you make an informed decision. CoCountant’s pricing page leads with “$160/mo” in big numbers — but that headline rate only covers a Launch-tier business under $20K monthly expenses, billed annually. As your operating expenses cross $50K, $100K, or $200K per month, the price escalates rapidly through three plans (Launch, Scale, Command) — and almost every business that needs payroll, AP/AR, or class tracking lands above the headline rate.
A dedicated virtual bookkeeping team can take this off your plate entirely — from $75/month, working in your own account.
This 2026 review of CoCountant runs the numbers across all three plans at every expense band, calculates the monthly-billing premium, and compares the resulting annual cost against Maxim Liberty’s transparent published pricing.
Transparency Note: This review is researched and published by Maxim Liberty. While we are a direct competitor, we have utilized objective pricing data, BBB ratings, and verified customer reviews to provide a fair market analysis of the best bookkeeping services available. Every third-party fact on this page is sourced and dated, and quotes are verbatim and linked. Ratings, pricing and company details change over time, so please check the linked source before relying on any figure. If you find an inaccuracy, tell us and we will correct it.
Build Your Plan: CoCountant vs. Maxim Liberty
CoCountant prices by your monthly operating expenses across three controller-led plans, and its headline figure is the annual-commitment price. Answer the questions below and we will show what each would cost for the same work, month to month.
Services you need
CoCountant vs. Maxim Liberty: At a Glance
| Factors | CoCountant | Maxim Liberty | The Advantage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Customer Rating |
!
4.7 weighted average 4.9 Clutch (12 reviews)5.0 G2 (5 reviews)3.2 Trustpilot (1 review)3.0 Google (2 reviews)20 reviews in total across four platforms — a very small sample. The lone Trustpilot review is rated 1 star, and one of the two Google reviews is a 1-star (checked 28 September 2026). |
4.9 weighted average Trustindex 4.9 (92)Clutch 5.0 (14)Trustindex aggregates Google (57), Trustindex (10), Yelp (9), G2 (7), Facebook (5) and BBB (4) |
Higher Volume |
| BBB Rating | BBB A+ accredited vs. none | ||
| Entry-Level Pricing | $175/mo if billed monthly | $75/mo flat for 1 entity (5 hrs); no expense-band escalation | 57% savings at entry |
| Pricing Structure | 3 plans × 7+ expense bands = 21+ tier combinations, all billed annually | $75/mo + $15/hr for businesses; $300/mo CPA plan (30 hrs included, then $10/hr) | Simpler & flatter |
| Billing Commitment | Headline prices billed annually; monthly billing carries 10–26% premium | Month-to-month, no annual commitment | Cancel anytime |
| Catch-Up Bookkeeping | × From $200/mo Charged separately from the monthly plan; CoCountant lists catch-up bookkeeping from $200 a month on its pricing page (checked 28 September 2026) |
$75 per catch-up month |
Est. 62% savings |
| Class Tracking / Departments | × Command plan only Listed at $1,390/mo month-to-month, $1,270/mo on annual billing, at the entry expense bands (cocountant.com/pricing, checked 28 September 2026) |
Enterprise plan $300/mo for 20 hours, covering class and department tracking and any software including industry-specific and ERP. Our $300/mo CPA plan covers unlimited entities. |
No paywall |
| Multi-Entity Consolidation | × Command plan only Global and multi-entity support is listed on the Command plan — $1,390/mo month-to-month, $1,270/mo on annual billing, at the entry expense bands (cocountant.com/pricing, checked 28 September 2026) |
Wholesale plan $300/mo for 30 hours. Additional $10/hr. Our $300/mo CPA plan covers unlimited entities. |
No paywall |
| Refund Policy | × Not publicly stated No refund or money-back terms are published on cocountant.com, and the annual-prepay plans do not set out a cancellation policy (checked 28 September 2026) |
100% money-back guarantee On your 1st retainer, refundable on the unused balance |
No-Obligation Trial |
What Is CoCountant?
CoCountant is a Cambridge, Massachusetts–based controller-led bookkeeping firm that delivers its bookkeeping through offshore teams — its own About page describes the company as founded on the idea of small businesses using “remote and offshore teams” and credits 23 years of “managing offshore operations” to its parent, Creative Chaos (cocountant.com/about, checked 28 September 2026). It is a firm offering three subscription tiers — Launch, Scale, and Command — to startups and growing businesses. Their model bundles bookkeeping with controller oversight and scales pricing by your monthly operating expenses. Per their CoCountant’s published tier list, all tier prices are quoted billed annually; monthly-billing options carry a premium (observed 10–26% above the annual rate at the entry expense band). CoCountant’s public review track record is largely positive: 4.9/5 on Clutch.co across 12 reviews and a TrustScore of 3.2 on Trustpilot from a single 1-star review, and 5.0/5 from 5 reviews on G2 (both re-verified Aug 24, 2026), alongside a 3.0/5 Google rating from just 2 reviews (checked 28 September 2026). The pricing structure, annual-billing commitment, and tier-paywall for class tracking are the practical evaluation points for prospective customers.CoCountant Pricing: All Three Plans Across All Expense Bands
CoCountant’s three plans, with prices billed annually per their CoCountant’s published tier list:Launch Plan: Bookkeeping with Controller Oversight (Monthly Billing)
| Monthly Expenses | CoCountant Launch | Maxim Liberty | ML Advantage / Savings |
|---|---|---|---|
| Up to $20,000 | $175/mo | $75/mo (5 hrs) | Save $100/mo (57% less) |
| Up to $35,000 | $195/mo | $75/mo (5 hrs) | Save $120/mo (62% less) |
| Up to $50,000 | $235/mo | $75/mo (5 hrs) or $150/mo (10 hrs) | Save $85–$160/mo (36–68% less) |
| Up to $75,000 | $340/mo | $150/mo (10 hrs) | Save $190/mo (56% less) |
| Up to $100,000 | $380/mo | $150/mo (10 hrs) or $300/mo (20 hrs) | Save $80–$230/mo (21–61% less) |
| Up to $150,000 | $480/mo | $300/mo (20 hrs) | Save $180/mo (38% less) |
| Up to $200,000 | $670/mo | $300/mo (20 hrs); add’l hours at $15/hr | Save $370/mo (55% less) |
| $200,000+ | Custom plan (call required) | Hourly retainer at $15/hour | Custom — typically 50%+ less |
Note: Prices shown are CoCountant’s monthly billing rates — the rates you actually pay if you don’t pre-commit to an annual contract. CoCountant’s annual-billing rates are 9–26% lower (e.g., $160/mo Launch at $20K with annual prepay vs $175/mo monthly). Maxim Liberty has no annual-vs-monthly differential; the published rates apply regardless of billing cadence.
Scale Plan: Adds Payroll, AP, AR (No Sales Tax) — Monthly Billing
| Monthly Expenses | CoCountant Scale | Maxim Liberty (20-hr plan + add’l hours @ $15) | ML Advantage / Savings |
|---|---|---|---|
| Up to $20,000 | $580/mo | $300/mo for 20 hours | Save $280/mo (48% less) |
| Up to $50,000 | $650/mo | $300 + ~5 add’l hrs × $15 ≈ $375/mo | Save $275/mo (42% less) |
| Up to $75,000 | $730/mo | $300 + ~10 add’l hrs × $15 ≈ $450/mo | Save $280/mo (38% less) |
| Up to $100,000 | $790/mo | $300 + ~15 add’l hrs × $15 ≈ $525/mo | Save $265/mo (34% less) |
| Up to $150,000 | $940/mo | $300 + ~25 add’l hrs × $15 ≈ $675/mo | Save $265/mo (28% less) |
| Up to $200,000 | $1,150/mo | $300 + ~35 add’l hrs × $15 ≈ $825/mo | Save $325/mo (28% less) |
| $200,000+ | Custom | Custom hourly retainer at $15/hour | Custom |
Note: CoCountant Scale at $20K is $460/mo with annual prepay (vs $580 monthly). The Scale plan adds payroll, AP, and AR — but does not include sales tax filing. Maxim Liberty’s $300/month plan includes 20 hours; additional hours bill at $15/hour, with sales tax handling and payroll integration included in scope.
Command Plan: Adds Class Tracking, Multi-Entity, FP&A — Monthly Billing
| Monthly Expenses | CoCountant Command | Maxim Liberty Enterprise (controller-supervised) | ML Advantage / Savings |
|---|---|---|---|
| Up to $20,000 | $1,390/mo | ~$600–$900/mo (40–60 hrs at $15 with controller-grade supervisor) | Save $490–$790/mo (35–57% less) |
| Up to $50,000 | $1,390/mo | ~$700–$1,000/mo (controller-supervised) | Save $390–$690/mo (28–50% less) |
| Up to $75,000 | $1,590/mo | ~$900–$1,200/mo (controller-supervised) | Save $390–$690/mo (25–43% less) |
| Up to $100,000 | $1,590/mo | ~$1,050–$1,350/mo (controller-supervised) | Save $240–$540/mo (15–34% less) |
| Up to $150,000 | $1,850/mo | ~$1,200–$1,500/mo (controller-supervised) | Save $350–$650/mo (19–35% less) |
| Up to $200,000 | $1,990/mo | ~$1,500–$1,800/mo (controller-supervised) | Save $190–$490/mo (10–25% less) |
| $200,000+ | Custom plan | Custom enterprise retainer with controller supervisor | Custom |
Note: CoCountant’s public pricing page now lists Command at a flat $1,270/mo (retrieved Aug 24, 2026); per-band figures in this table reflect its July 2026 published tiers, which no longer appear on the public page. Command bundles class tracking, multi-entity consolidation, and FP&A. Maxim Liberty’s enterprise engagements price hourly at $15/hour with a controller-grade supervisor providing oversight on monthly closes, GAAP reporting, and management financials — covering the same functional scope at a lower total monthly cost.
For CPA & Accounting Firms: A Different Pricing Lens
For CPA and accounting firms managing multiple end-clients, CoCountant’s per-business tier model means each end-client carries its own monthly subscription at the relevant Launch / Scale / Command rate. A 4-client practice on the Launch tier alone runs roughly $700–$1,500/month just in base subscriptions, before any catch-up or premium scope. Maxim Liberty’s $300/month CPA white-label plan works on a different axis entirely: 30 hours of bookkeeping work per month with no limit on the number of entities or end-clients covered under the engagement. Whether you have 2, 5, 10, or 20 active end-clients, the $300/month CPA plan covers them under one engagement as long as the total work fits within 30 hours. Beyond 30 hours, additional hours bill at $10/hour with no per-client multiplier.CPA Firm Pricing Comparison
| CPA Firm Workload | CoCountant (per-client subscriptions) | Maxim Liberty CPA Plan | ML Advantage / Savings |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2 end-clients (Launch tier each) | ~$350–$700/mo (depending on expense bands) | $300/mo CPA plan (30 hours, both clients covered) | Save $50–$400/mo |
| 4 end-clients | ~$700–$1,500/mo (Launch tier each) | $300/mo CPA plan (30 hours, all 4 covered) | Save $400–$1,200/mo |
| 10 end-clients | ~$1,750–$3,800/mo (Launch tier each) | $300/mo CPA plan + add’l hours at $10/hr if needed | Save $1,400+/mo |
| White-label availability | Not advertised as a CPA white-label tier | White-label dedicated to CPA firm engagements | Built for CPA firms |
| Entity limit | Each entity = its own CoCountant subscription | No entity limit — covered under one CPA engagement | Unlimited entities |
Note: CoCountant does not advertise a dedicated CPA or white-label tier on their public pricing page. The math above applies their published per-business Launch tier to CPA-managed entities at expense bands ranging from $20K to $200K. If CoCountant offers volume or CPA-specific discounts, they are not publicly disclosed. Maxim Liberty’s $300/month CPA plan is purpose-built for accounting firms and has no published cap on the number of end-client entities under one engagement. Maxim Liberty provides outsourced bookkeeping for businesses and CPA firms with a supervisor on every account.
When Maxim Liberty’s Enterprise Plan Makes Sense Instead
For larger CPA firms or any practice that needs controller-grade supervision across complex multi-entity engagements with class tracking, AP/AR, and management reporting, the right Maxim Liberty match is the enterprise engagement — hourly billing at $15/hour with a senior supervisor positioned as a working controller (review of monthly close, sign-off on management reports, exception reporting). This is the functional equivalent of CoCountant’s Command tier at a substantially lower total monthly cost (typically 20–50% less depending on workload).The Public Review Evidence
CoCountant’s public review evidence is positive but very thin — 20 reviews in total across four platforms, and no BBB profile. Every figure below was read from the platform itself on 28 September 2026. The key sources:- Clutch.co: 4.9/5 across 12 verified reviews — small sample but highly positive, with most projects under $10K and themes of “tax-ready books” and “fast closes.”
- Trustpilot: TrustScore 3.2 from a single review — one review only, rated 1 star, posted 25 November 2024. CoCountant has replied publicly to it, saying it cannot locate a record of the interaction. There is no meaningful Trustpilot sample either way.
- G2: 5.0/5 across 5 reviews — uniformly positive, but again a five-review sample.
- Google: 3.0/5 from 2 reviews — one 5-star and one 1-star. The 1-star, posted roughly January 2026, describes months of delay on bank-statement review and basic profit-and-loss statements.
- Better Business Bureau: No US BBB profile found at the Cambridge, MA address listed on Trustpilot (checked 28 September 2026).
The Verdict: Real Customer Experiences
How these quotes were selected. We show the 5 most recent worst reviews over the past 3 years for each provider — or all of them where fewer exist. The same rule is applied to both companies, and quotes are reproduced verbatim (and, where long, truncated) from the linked public sources — CoCountant reviews from Trustpilot and Google, Maxim Liberty reviews from our Trustindex profile and Clutch. Each quote links to its source; where a platform does not publish per-review permalinks, we link to the review profile it appears on.
In fairness to CoCountant: these are the only two negative reviews we could find on any platform, and the Trustpilot one is the only review CoCountant has there at all — not merely the only 1-star one. CoCountant has replied to it publicly, saying it can find no record of the interaction described. Their overall record is positive but the sample is very small — 4.9 across 12 Clutch reviews and 5.0 across 5 G2 reviews, against 3.0 from 2 Google reviews and a single 1-star Trustpilot review — and our case against them rests on pricing structure, not service quality.
Why the worst reviews rather than the best? Every bookkeeping provider can point to happy customers, so a five-star review mostly tells you what the service looks like when nothing goes wrong. When you hand a firm your books, the risk you are actually buying against is what happens when something does go wrong — whether errors get corrected, whether filing deadlines slip, and whether anyone answers when you chase them. The most critical reviews are the fastest way to see that, which is why we apply the same worst-case test to our own record on this page.
Why our column shows 5-star reviews: Maxim Liberty has not received a review below 5 stars in the last three years, so these are our worst. Our two 4-star reviews date from February 2019 and March 2022, and our only 1-star review is from October 2017 — all three are public and readable in full on our Trustindex profile, which shows 4.9 out of 5 across 92 reviews (89 five-star, 2 four-star, 1 one-star).
“Very bad service! Their staff are very rude. Made for a bad experience that was bad for our needs.”
“Maxim Liberty Services was easily the best investment I made last year in my bookkeeping firm. Outsourcing my bookkeeping has freed up so much of my time to support even more growth.”
“There is a reason this company only had one review as of 12/30/2025. I think they are very new and have no idea what they are doing. It’s taken months to have them review bank statements and create simple Profit and Loss Statements for a…” [truncated]
“Rockstars! What an awesome solution for a small business… Reliable, friendly, professional, and fairly priced.”
CoCountant customer reviews quoted from the public profiles linked on each card (Trustpilot and Google), checked 28 September 2026. Maxim Liberty reviews quoted from Trustindex (bookkeeping-services.com).
Pros and Cons
✓ Pros
- Strong Clutch.co rating (4.9/5 across 12 reviews)
- Perfect G2 record (5.0/5 across 5 reviews)
- Controller-led model with tax-ready books
- Fixed-fee pricing once you know your tier — predictable monthly cost
- 10-day GAAP close on the Scale plan
- Discloses its offshore delivery model openly on its own About page — most competitors do not
✗ Cons
- Annual billing default — monthly billing is 9–26% more expensive
- Pricing escalates rapidly with monthly expenses (Launch $175→$670 month-to-month across the published bands, then Custom)
- Bookkeeping is delivered by offshore teams, not US staff — its About page describes the company as founded on the idea of small businesses using “remote and offshore teams,” cites 23 years of “managing offshore operations” through its parent Creative Chaos, and refers to its “strategic approach to offshore teaming” (cocountant.com/about, checked 28 September 2026). Maxim Liberty is US-registered with delivery centers in India and says so on its own About page; the point is not that offshore delivery is wrong, but that a buyer who needs US-only staff will not get it from either firm
- Class tracking locked behind the Command tier ($1,270/mo list, Aug 2026)
- Sales tax filing not included even on the Scale plan
- Catch-up bookkeeping is charged separately, from $200/mo (their pricing page, checked 28 September 2026)
- No public US BBB profile found in our search (July 2026)
- Cancellation and refund terms for annual billing not spelled out on the pricing page (as of Aug 24, 2026)
- No money-back guarantee found on cocountant.com (as of Aug 24, 2026); their Trustpilot company profile advertises a 30-day no-risk trial
CoCountant Alternatives Worth Comparing
Maxim Liberty is our recommended alternative for businesses that want hourly-billed flexibility instead of annual-billed tiers. Here are the four worth shortlisting in 2026:
- Maxim Liberty — best overall CoCountant alternative. Human-led bookkeeping in your QuickBooks, Xero, or Sage account from $75/month billed monthly on actual hours — no annual commitment, no class-tracking paywall — with catch-up included and a 100% money-back guarantee on 1st retainer, refundable on the unused balance. 20+ years in business, BBB A+ accredited, and #1 on the 2026 Clutch Leaders Matrix.
- Bench — most turnkey proprietary platform. Bookkeeping Grow from $199/month for businesses under $250K in revenue; Core from $399/month, Core + Tax from $599/month, all billed monthly (per bench.co, retrieved Aug 30, 2026); now owned by Employer.com, which has consolidated brands under MainStreet, though the site still brands as Bench.
- Pilot — best for VC-backed startups. AI-driven bookkeeping from $99/month, human-led Core from $299/month billed annually (per pilot.com/pricing, retrieved Aug 28, 2026).
- Bookkeeper360 — best for bundled HR and payroll. US-based team with dashboard tooling from $399/month (bookkeeper360.com, Jul 2026).