Acuity Review (2026): Premium Pricing vs. Wholesale Hourly Rates
Home Resources Acuity Review

Premium Engagements vs. Wholesale Hourly

Acuity Review (2026): Premium Pricing vs. Wholesale Hourly Rates

Last Updated: September 8, 2026

Acuity sells itself as “the most certified cloud accounting experts in the nation” (their wording), delivering virtual bookkeeping through CFO advisory. Their published engagement range runs from roughly $7,200 per year on the low end (case examples at $599–$699/mo) to $100,000+ per year at the Established stage (case examples up to $8,840/mo) — per acuity.co/pricing, retrieved Aug 24, 2026 — that’s $1,000 to $8,333+ per month. For a growing business, that’s serious money. The question is whether the public review evidence supports that price tag.

This 2026 review of Acuity (acuity.co) compares their premium pricing model against Maxim Liberty’s wholesale-rate hourly model. We’ll look at the actual engagement structure, third-party review data, and the math on a 3-year cost comparison for a representative growing business.

Get Started Now

Transparency Note: This review is researched and published by Maxim Liberty. While we are a direct competitor, we have utilized objective pricing data, BBB ratings, and verified customer reviews to provide a fair market analysis of the best bookkeeping services available. Every third-party fact on this page is sourced and dated, and quotes are verbatim and linked. Ratings, pricing and company details change over time, so please check the linked source before relying on any figure. If you find an inaccuracy, tell us and we will correct it.

Third-party ratings and reviews as cited above, retrieved July 2026 from their respective platforms. Maxim Liberty reviews from Trustindex (bookkeeping-services.com).

Acuity vs. Maxim Liberty: At a Glance

Factors Acuity Maxim Liberty The Advantage
Customer Rating
⚠️

Unrated (TrustPilot, 0 reviews)
4.9 weighted average

Trustindex 4.9 (92)Clutch 5.0 (14)

Trustindex aggregates Google (57), Trustindex (10), Yelp (9), G2 (7), Facebook (5) and BBB (4)
Higher Quality & Volume
BBB Status BBB A+
Entry-Level Pricing $1,000/month $75/month plus $15/hour as needed Up to 10× cheaper
Top Tier Pricing $8,333+/month Custom plans typically $1,500–$2,500/month Comparable scope at less cost
Service Model $1,000–$8,333+/month engagement-based Hourly billing + monthly retainers, fully custom Pay only for work performed
Target Market Mid-market growth businesses Solopreneurs, startups, mid-market, CPA firms Wider access — no revenue gatekeeping
Refund Policy Not publicly stated 100% money-back on first deposit 🏆 #1 on 50ProsZero-risk trial during onboarding

Acuity Pricing: What You Actually Pay

Based on Acuity’s public marketing and third-party reviews:

  • Bookkeeping Engagement — case examples from $599–$699/month (Essentials stage), retrieved Aug 24, 2026. Entry-level virtual bookkeeping. (Cancellation terms are not stated on the pricing page — confirm before signing.)
  • Controller Engagement — Mid-range ($24,000–$48,000/year). Adds controller-level oversight, monthly close review, and management reporting.
  • Fractional CFO Engagement — Up to $100,000+/year. Strategic financial leadership, forecasting, and board-ready reporting.

In short: Acuity’s entry bookkeeping engagement starts at the same monthly cost as Maxim Liberty’s full custom retainer. And Acuity bundles cancellation friction (30-day notice) into the structure.

The Public Review Evidence

For a service charging at this price level, you’d expect a deep public track record. Acuity’s evidence on third-party platforms is unusually thin:

  • TrustPilot: Profile exists but is unrated (“Be the first to review”) (source)
  • Better Business Bureau: BBB profile available (El Paso, TX) (source)
  • G2 / Clutch: Generally positive reviews on G2 and Clutch.co, though one notable Clutch review mentions confusion around shifting pricing early in an engagement

By contrast, Maxim Liberty maintains a 5.0-star Clutch.co profile with 14 verified reviews, plus 4.9 across 92 reviews on Trustindex, BBB A+ Accreditation, recognition on Forbes Advisor, and multiple named CPA testimonials.

Side-by-Side Public Review Comparison

Here’s how the public-review evidence stacks up across major third-party platforms:

⚠ Acuity ✓ Maxim Liberty
TrustPilot

No public reviews · Profile unrated

Source: TrustPilot.com

Clutch.co

5.0 / 5 · 14 verified reviews · Claimed and verified

Source: Clutch.co/maxim-liberty

Better Business Bureau

BBB profile available

Source: BBB.org profile

Better Business Bureau

BBB A+ Accredited Business · Zero unanswered complaints

Source: BBB.org/Maxim-Liberty

Industry Recognition

Acuity’s own site lists industry recognitions (Best Midsized/Large Firms to Work For 2020, Top 50 Modern Firms 2025 — per acuitycfo.com/about, retrieved Aug 24, 2026); we found no major independent “best-of” rankings beyond these.

Industry Recognition

#1 Bookkeeping Service on Clutch · Forbes Advisor Recommended · #1 on Solution Scout · #1 on The Manifest · #1 on Tech Times

Named CPA Testimonials

We did not find named CPA partner testimonials in our review (as of Aug 2026).

Named CPA Testimonials

“High quality work, experienced team, and excellent communications and organization. They quickly earned my trust and confidence.” — Jonathan Morris, CPA · CEO, Morris and Company

Source: Client Testimonials

Refund / Trial Policy

We found no money-back guarantee or risk-free start advertised (checked Aug 24, 2026).

Refund / Trial Policy

100% money-back guarantee on first deposit. Risk-free trial during onboarding.

The Math: Acuity vs. Maxim Liberty Annual Cost

For a representative growing business needing full outsourced bookkeeping, the cost difference is striking:

Annual Cost Acuity Maxim Liberty
Year 1 ~$7,200–$100,000+ $900–$30,000 (custom retainer)
3-Year Total $36,000–$300,000 $2,700–$90,000
Typical Annual Savings $0–$99,100+

For most small-to-mid-market businesses, that’s enough savings to fund a full-time junior in-house resource — or to reinvest directly into product, marketing, or hiring.

Pros and Cons

✓ Pros

  • Award-list positioning (Best Firms to Work For 2020, Top 50 Modern Firms 2025, per their site)
  • Tiered engagement scope from bookkeeping through fractional CFO
  • Generally positive Clutch.co and G2 reviews
  • Has served 2,600+ entrepreneurs per their public marketing

✗ Cons

  • Premium pricing — published case examples start around $599–$699/month (~$7,200–$8,400/year), retrieved Aug 24, 2026
  • Top-tier engagements run up to $100,000+/year
  • Zero TrustPilot reviews — profile is unrated
  • 30-day cancellation notice required for bookkeeping engagements
  • Reported pricing-shift complaints early in engagements (per Clutch reviews)
  • No publicly-stated money-back guarantee

Acuity Alternatives Worth Comparing

Maxim Liberty is our recommended alternative — but the right fit depends on your stack and stage. Here are the four worth shortlisting in 2026:

  1. Maxim Liberty — best overall Acuity alternative. Human-led bookkeeping in your QuickBooks, Xero, or Sage account from $75/month, cash or accrual basis, with catch-up included and a 100% money-back guarantee on your first deposit. 20+ years in business, BBB A+ accredited, and #1 on the 2026 Clutch Leaders Matrix.
  2. Bench — most turnkey proprietary platform. Bookkeeping Grow from $199/month for businesses under $250K in revenue; Core from $399/month, Core + Tax from $599/month, all billed monthly (per bench.co, retrieved Aug 30, 2026); now owned by Employer.com, which has consolidated brands under MainStreet, though the site still brands as Bench.
  3. Pilot — best for VC-backed startups. AI-driven bookkeeping from $99/month, human-led Core from $299/month billed annually (per pilot.com/pricing, retrieved Aug 28, 2026).
  4. Bookkeeper360 — best for bundled HR and payroll. US-based team with dashboard tooling from $399/month (bookkeeper360.com, Jul 2026).

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does Acuity cost?

Acuity’s pricing runs from $1,000/month to $8,333+/month, with custom enterprise quotes above that range.

Does Acuity offer a money-back guarantee?

No publicly-stated money-back guarantee or risk-free start is documented on Acuity’s public marketing. Maxim Liberty offers a 100% money-back guarantee on the first deposit and a risk-free onboarding trial.

How many public reviews does Acuity have?

As of this 2026 review, Acuity has no public TrustPilot review record (the profile is either unrated or does not exist). By contrast, Maxim Liberty maintains a 5.0 rating from 14 verified Clutch reviews plus 4.9 out of 5 across 92 reviews on Trustindex, BBB A+ Accreditation, and recognition from Forbes Advisor.

Is Acuity BBB Accredited?

Acuity has a Better Business Bureau profile available publicly. Maxim Liberty is BBB Accredited with an A+ rating.

Who is Acuity best for?

Acuity targets mid-market growth businesses, b corp aligned. Businesses outside that target — solopreneurs, CPA firms looking for white-label support, or budget-conscious mid-market companies — may find Maxim Liberty’s hourly model and entry pricing of $75/month a better fit.

The Bottom Line

Acuity offers $1,000–$8,333+/month engagement-based aimed at mid-market growth businesses, b corp aligned. The service scope is comprehensive on paper. The challenge is the public review evidence: limited TrustPilot depth for the price level, plus no publicly-stated money-back guarantee.

For most growing businesses — especially CPA firms looking for white-label bookkeeping, e-commerce companies, professional service firms, and SaaS startups — Maxim Liberty delivers comparable scope at $75/month plus $15/hour as needed, backed by a 5.0 rating from 14 verified Clutch reviews plus 4.9 out of 5 across 92 reviews on Trustindex, BBB A+ Accreditation, named CPA testimonials, and a 100% money-back guarantee. The math is simple: substantially more public proof of quality, at a fraction of the cost.

See also: our reviews of Pilot.com, Bench Accounting, QuickBooks Live, Bookkeeper360, and the best bookkeeping services compared head-to-head.

Compare to other providers: See our RemoteBooks Online review for a deep-dive into RBO’s per-account pricing model, BBB complaints, and how it stacks up against full-service alternatives.

Comparing offshore CPA-firm staffing options? See our TOA Global review — Australia-based offshore staffing for accounting practices with quote-only pricing.

Comparing tiered subscription bookkeeping? See our CoCountant review — controller-led bookkeeping with annual-billed plans from $160 to $1,790/month and a class-tracking paywall.

Outgrowing Acuity’s $12K–$100K/year engagements?

Get the same outsourced bookkeeping scope at wholesale labor rates from Maxim Liberty — $75/month plus $15/hour as needed. No 30-day cancellation notice, with a 100% money-back guarantee on your first deposit. For professional outsourced bookkeeping at hour-based rates, compare Maxim Liberty directly.

Get a Free Quote Call Now: 703-957-6938