Marketing-Led Brand vs. Real CPA Partner
BrainyAdvisors Review (2026): Marketing-Led US Brand, Philippine CPA Team & A Better Alternative
Transparency Note: This review is researched and published by Maxim Liberty. While we are a direct competitor, we have utilized objective pricing data, BBB ratings, and verified customer reviews to provide a fair market analysis of the best bookkeeping services available. Every third-party fact on this page is sourced and dated, and quotes are verbatim and linked. Ratings, pricing and company details change over time, so please check the linked source before relying on any figure. If you find an inaccuracy, tell us and we will correct it.
BrainyAdvisors markets itself as an all-CPA bookkeeping firm with Big Four pedigree, but the actual structure is more nuanced. The company is a Texas-registered LLC (incorporated Feb 2, 2024), founded by Billy Buckles, an internet-marketing entrepreneur (per his LinkedIn), with Patricia Bautista — a Philippine PRC-licensed CPA based in Batangas, Philippines (per her LinkedIn) — as Co-Founder and Head of Accounting. The delivery team consists of Philippine-licensed CPAs whose “Big Four” experience refers to the local Philippine member firms (SGV & Co. for EY, Isla Lipana for PwC, R.G. Manabat for KPMG, Navarro Amper for Deloitte — same brand names worldwide, separate legal entities under Philippine law).
The legal entity is registered in Texas but the franchise tax record lists John Buckles, President,, with an Indiana mailing address on file (an Indiana residential address) — while marketing uses a San Francisco (415) 966-2655 phone. Real strengths: named team members with photos, NO AI (manual review), and a CPA Firm Support service. Real weaknesses: only 4 Clutch reviews, no BBB profile, no Google Business listing (checked Aug 24, 2026), expense-bracket pricing that penalizes high-COGS businesses, an annual plan whose rate is not actually locked (BrainyAdvisors recomputes COGS every 2 months and rebills for tier jumps), and a US-CPA licensing gap that matters for US tax filing. This 2026 review compares BrainyAdvisors’ published tiers against Maxim Liberty’s hour-based plans — with the actual cost math for startups, growing businesses, and CPA firms.
Want real bookkeepers instead of an app? Maxim Liberty’s virtual bookkeeping service works in your own QuickBooks or Xero account from $75/month.
At a Glance: BrainyAdvisors vs. Maxim Liberty
BrainyAdvisors has no U.S. Better Business Bureau listing (searched July 19, 2026).
| Factors | BrainyAdvisors | Maxim Liberty | The Advantage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Customer Rating |
4.9 weighted average
Trustindex 4.9 (92)Clutch 5.0 (14) Trustindex aggregates Google (57), Trustindex (10), Yelp (9), G2 (7), Facebook (5) and BBB (4)
|
Better Verification | |
| BBB Rating |
Not on BBB
|
BBB A+ | |
| Software Flexibility | Software-Flexible | ||
| Books Delivery Cadence | 15× Faster | ||
| Catch-up Bookkeeping |
20% off the regular monthly rate per behind month (their FAQ, retrieved Aug 24, 2026)
|
Included in all plans (catchup at $15/hr)
|
Save $1,200/yr |
| Pricing Model | Workload-Based | ||
| AP / AR / Bill Pay | $49/hr Avoided | ||
| Billing Flexibility | 100% Flexibility | ||
| Cash or Accrual | Cash or Accrual at every tier | Cash or Accrual at every tier | Parity |
| Registered Officer / Address | Consistent US Identity | ||
| Years in Business | Established | ||
| Money Back Guarantee | Risk-Free | ||
| Entry Pricing | 61% Savings |
⚠️ Warning: BrainyAdvisors annual plan rate is NOT locked in.
If your business grows rapidly, BrainyAdvisors recomputes your average COGS+expenses over a rolling 2-month span and bills you for the tier difference for the covered month. The “Annual Discount” you signed up for can quietly disappear as your books grow — even mid-contract. Maxim Liberty’s published $75/$150/$300 monthly tiers do not change based on your business size.
⚠️ About the “Every accountant in our team is a licensed CPA” claim.
BrainyAdvisors’ the BrainyAdvisors About page states: “Every accountant in our team is a licensed CPA and previously worked for a Big Four accounting firm.” This is technically true — based on public LinkedIn profiles of the named team, the team members do hold CPA licenses. The licenses, however, are issued by the Philippines Professional Regulation Commission (PRC), not by US state boards of accountancy. A Philippines PRC CPA is not authorized to sign US tax returns as a CPA, represent clients before the IRS, or perform audit or attest work that requires a US state CPA license. (See FAQ below for the full distinction.)
For US small businesses or US CPA firms expecting the “CPA license” phrase to mean a US state-board-issued credential, the distinction matters. Maxim Liberty is positioned as a behind-the-scenes bookkeeping partner for US CPA firms — we are NOT a CPA firm ourselves and don’t claim US CPA licensing. Our engagement model is built for a US-licensed CPA firm to engage us for back-office bookkeeping while their licensed CPA remains the CPA-of-record for the end client.
Verdict: Why Maxim Liberty Wins on Verification & Flexibility
BrainyAdvisors has some legitimate strengths — the all-CPA team, named members with photos, Big Four pedigrees, and the NO-AI manual review angle are real differentiators in a market full of opaque offshore providers. But three things stand out for buyers comparing options in 2026:
- Limited independent verification. Only 4 Clutch reviews, no BBB profile, no TrustPilot, no G2, and no Google Business listing (checked Aug 24, 2026). For a newer firm, that’s a small footprint to evaluate before committing to annual billing. Maxim Liberty has 14 verified Clutch reviews plus 4.9 out of 5 across 92 reviews on Trustindex, a 4.9 Trustindex rating, and BBB A+ accreditation.
- Expense-bracket pricing penalizes some business types. A high-COGS restaurant or e-commerce store with modest revenue might still cross the $30k or $80k expense thresholds, pushing them into higher pricing tiers even though transaction complexity hasn’t actually grown. Maxim Liberty’s hour-based pricing scales with actual workload, not expense volume.
- Standard plans skip AP, AR, Inventory, and Sales Tax; payroll is offered as an add-on. Every BrainyAdvisors tier covers basic monthly bookkeeping — reconciliation, expense tracking, financial statements. AP/AR, payroll (add-on only), inventory management, and sales tax filing are not included. Maxim Liberty’s $300/mo Enterprise plan bundles these into one engagement.
Third-party ratings and reviews as cited above, retrieved July 2026 from their respective platforms. Maxim Liberty reviews from Trustindex (bookkeeping-services.com).
Pricing Comparison: What You Actually Pay
Startup Workload: BrainyAdvisors vs. Maxim Liberty
| Service Component | BrainyAdvisors (Estimated) | Maxim Liberty (Startup) | Monthly Savings |
|---|---|---|---|
| Base Monthly Rate | $195 (Startups & Small, annual) | $75 (5 hours) | $120 |
| Daily Updates / Real-Time Reports | Not offered (monthly close with ~45-day lag — books delivered by the 15th of the following month) | Included — real-time updates & reconciliations | Real-Time |
| Monthly Billing Premium | +$34/mo (no annual lock-in) | $0 (already month-to-month) | $34 |
| Cash or Accrual at Entry | Available | Available | Parity |
| TOTAL MONTHLY COST | $229 / mo (monthly billing) | $75 / mo | $154 (67% Savings) |
*Payroll and Sales Tax Filing services are included at $15/hour as part of the $300/mo Enterprise plan, but additional per-unit charges may apply — per-employee/per-payroll-run for payroll, per-state-jurisdiction for sales tax filing.
BrainyAdvisors discounts apply only to 12-month annual billing; monthly billers pay $34–$104 more per month. Maxim Liberty plans are month-to-month with $15/hour overflow.
Enterprise Workload: BrainyAdvisors vs. Maxim Liberty
| Service Component | BrainyAdvisors (Estimated) | Maxim Liberty (Enterprise Plan) | Monthly Savings |
|---|---|---|---|
| Base Monthly Rate | $595 (Large annual) / $699 (monthly) | $300 (20-hr Enterprise) | $299–$399 |
| AP Operations (5 hrs) | $245 ($49/hr add-on × 5 hrs) | Included at $15/hr | $245 |
| AR Operations (5 hrs) | $245 ($49/hr add-on × 5 hrs) | Included at $15/hr | $245 |
| Inventory Management | Not Offered | Included at $15/hr | Coverage Win |
| Payroll Operations* | Not Offered | Included at $15/hr* | Coverage Win |
| Sales Tax Filing* | Not Offered | Included at $15/hr* | Coverage Win |
| TOTAL MONTHLY COST | $1,089/mo ($599 Large + $245 AP + $245 AR add-ons) | $300/mo (all included) | $789/mo (73% Savings) |
BrainyAdvisors’ published plan inclusions cover monthly bookkeeping — reconciliation, expense tracking, financial statements. AP/AR, Inventory Management, Payroll (add-on only), and Sales Tax Filing are not in the standard tiers. Maxim Liberty’s $300/mo Enterprise plan includes these operations with a controller-grade supervisor.
CPA Workload: BrainyAdvisors vs. Maxim Liberty
⚠️ BrainyAdvisors has no published plan for CPA firms or accounting firms.
BrainyAdvisors’ team is composed of Philippine PRC-licensed CPAs, and the company markets directly to small businesses and end clients alongside its CPA Firm Support service. For US CPA firms considering BrainyAdvisors as a behind-the-scenes partner, the structural alignment is worth weighing — a provider whose primary go-to-market is end-client acquisition can present a different incentive profile than one whose primary go-to-market is CPA-firm partnership.
By contrast, Maxim Liberty derives 70% of our revenue from CPA firms and has a proven model to partner with them. Our entire business is structured around supporting CPA firms behind the scenes — Ghost Bookkeeping, white-label financial reporting, and white-label communications — with published entity-tiered rates so CPAs can model their margins in advance. Learn more about our Bookkeeping for CPA Firms plan »
| Engagement Scenario | BrainyAdvisors (Estimated) | Maxim Liberty CPA Plan | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 entity | Not Published (Ghost Bookkeeping custom quote) | $75/mo | 1-entity tier published |
| 2 entities | Not Published | $150/mo | 2-entity tier published |
| 3 entities | Not Published | $225/mo | 3-entity tier published |
| 4+ entities (up to 30 hours/month) | Not Published | $300/mo for up to 30 hours; additional hours at $10/hour | Bundled tier, unlimited entities beyond 4 |
| 10 entities (up to 30 hours total) | Not Published | $300/mo (10 entities × 3 hrs avg = 30 hrs); $10/hr overflow | Same flat rate as 4 entities — no per-client multiplier |
| Seasonal scenario (30 hrs × 6 + 0 × 3 + 90 × 3) | Busy Season Flex-Staffing custom quote | $6,300/yr (6×$300 + 3×$0 + 3×($300+60×$10)) | Month-to-month flexibility |
BrainyAdvisors’ CPA Firm Support has four offerings (Ghost Bookkeeping, Busy Season Flex-Staffing, Strategic Partnerships, Audit Support) but no published per-entity rates. Maxim Liberty’s CPA plan tiers per entity for 1–3 entities, then bundles at $300/mo for 4+ entities with 30 hours of work at $10/hour and unlimited entities beyond. Overflow at $10/hour. The CPA plan does not include AP/AR/payroll/FP&A — for those, Maxim Liberty offers an enterprise engagement with controller-grade supervision.
How BrainyAdvisors and Maxim Liberty Compare on Published Terms
The clearest way to compare two bookkeeping providers is to look at what each company publishes. Below is a side-by-side of the documented service terms for BrainyAdvisors and Maxim Liberty as of the date of this review.
Sources: BrainyAdvisors BrainyAdvisors’ published plan tiers, Clutch profile, and customer-support documented terms (recompute policy, books-by-15th, $49/hr add-on rate, catch-up at 20% off the regular rate per behind month). Maxim Liberty BrainyAdvisors’ published plan tiers, Clutch profile, and Trustindex reviews.
Is BrainyAdvisors Actually Startup Friendly? (The Reality)
BrainyAdvisors leads with a low entry price, and for a very small business it is genuinely low. The structure underneath is what matters as you grow: the plan is sized by your combined COGS and expenses, and that figure is re-measured while you are a customer.
The Hidden Costs of the $125/mo Plan
- The entry rate is annual-only. $125/mo requires annual billing; the same tier is $195/mo annual or $229/mo paid monthly at the next bracket (retrieved Aug 24, 2026). Maxim Liberty’s $75/mo needs no annual commitment.
- Your rate is not locked. BrainyAdvisors recomputes your average COGS plus expenses on a rolling two-month basis and bills the tier difference for the covered month — so a good quarter can raise your bookkeeping bill retroactively. We bill hours worked; growth does not change the rate.
- Expense brackets penalize whole business types. A high-COGS restaurant or e-commerce store on modest revenue can cross the $30K or $80K brackets while a services firm on far higher profit stays in the bottom tier. Hours worked is the neutral measure.
- Anything beyond core bookkeeping is $49/hour. AR/AP, invoicing and bill pay, payroll, and advanced reporting are add-ons starting at $49/hr. The equivalent work here is $15/hr for businesses.
- QuickBooks Online only. BrainyAdvisors works in QBO, so that subscription is yours to carry (from $38/mo). Maxim Liberty is software-agnostic, including free Wave or Zoho Books options.
Startup Books: BrainyAdvisors vs. Maxim Liberty
| Service Component | BrainyAdvisors | Maxim Liberty | Advantage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry plan | $125/mo — annual billing only | Standard $75/mo — 5 hours included, no annual commitment | $600 / Yr Savings |
| How the price is set | By COGS + expense bracket, recomputed every 2 months | By hours actually worked | Rate Stays Put |
| AR/AP, payroll, bill pay | Add-ons from $49/hr | $15/hr for businesses | 69% Lower Rate |
| Software | QuickBooks Online only (your subscription, from $38/mo) | Any software — including free Wave or Zoho Books | $0 Software Option |
| Delivery timing | Books delivered by the 15th (their FAQ says second or third week) | Daily, weekly, or monthly updates | Your Cadence |
Scaling: What Happens When You Grow
The bracket model is the thing to model out before signing. Crossing an expense threshold moves you a tier — and because the measurement is rolling, the increase can land on a month you have already worked through.
| As You Grow | BrainyAdvisors | Maxim Liberty | Advantage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Under $30K monthly COGS + expenses | $125–$195/mo depending on billing term | $75/mo + $15/hr as needed | Lower Entry |
| $30K–$80K bracket | $195–$379/mo | Same rates — no bracket exists | No Bracket Jump |
| $80K–$150K bracket | $325–$699/mo | Enterprise $300/mo (20 hrs), then $15/hr | Up to $399/mo Lower |
| Rate certainty | Recomputed on a rolling 2-month average | Published rates, month-to-month, no lock-in contracts | Predictable |
BrainyAdvisors pricing and terms per brainyadvisors.com and its FAQ, retrieved Aug 24, 2026; QuickBooks Online from $38/mo (Intuit, Jul 2026); Wave free Starter plan and Zoho Books free plan for businesses under $50K annual revenue (Aug 2026). Maxim Liberty rates per our published pricing. Scopes differ — BrainyAdvisors bills a bracketed monthly fee, Maxim Liberty bills hours worked.
BrainyAdvisors Alternatives Worth Comparing
Maxim Liberty is the best alternative to BrainyAdvisors — same offshore delivery cost structure, US-registered entity (San Juan, PR), BBB A+ accreditation, published rate cards starting at $75/mo, and 20+ years of US-headquartered operating history. If you’d like to compare other options before deciding, the reviews below cover the rest of the comparison set: See how Maxim Liberty handles bookkeeping for CPA firms — white-label, supervisor-reviewed, since 2005.
- Bookkeeper.com review — Revenue-bracket tiered pricing, cash-only at entry tier
- CoCountant review — Tiered annual subscription model; per-business-subscription pricing
- Pilot.com review — Premium automation-first model; high entry pricing
- Bookkeeper360 review — Tech-forward subscription model
Want published rates, month-to-month flexibility, and BBB A+ accountability?
Maxim Liberty has been serving US small businesses and CPA firms for 20+ years — San Juan, PR (US-registered entity), BBB Accredited, US-resident founder, published rate cards starting at $75/mo, and a 100% money-back guarantee on your first month.
BrainyAdvisors Review FAQ
Is BrainyAdvisors a US company?
BrainyAdvisors is registered as a Texas LLC, with the Texas Comptroller franchise tax record showing the entity was registered on February 2, 2024. The TX franchise tax record lists John Buckles as President at an Indiana mailing address — an Indiana residential address. The BrainyAdvisors website, however, lists “Billy Buckles” as Co-Founder/CEO and uses a San Francisco (415) 966-2655 phone number. The named CPA team includes Patricia Bautista, Co-Founder and Head of Accounting, whose public LinkedIn profile documents: (a) Philippine PRC-issued CPA license, (b) Bachelor’s in Accountancy from De La Salle Lipa (Lipa, Batangas, Philippines), (c) prior audit experience at SGV & Co. — the Philippine member firm of EY (Oct 2018–Sep 2020), and (d) most recent prior role at The Citco Group Limited (Nov 2020–May 2022). The other team members carry similar name patterns and credentials consistent with an offshore-delivered service from the Philippines, with the “Big Four pedigree” referring to the Philippine member firms (SGV for EY, Isla Lipana for PwC, R.G. Manabat for KPMG, Navarro Amper for Deloitte) — same brand names worldwide, separate legal entities under Philippine law. The website does not publish a specific US business street address. Maxim Liberty, by contrast, has a US-resident founder based in San Juan, PR (US-registered entity), is BBB Accredited (A+), and is consistent across registration, marketing, and complaint-channel identity.
Does BrainyAdvisors have US-licensed CPAs?
BrainyAdvisors’ website does not state that its CPAs hold US CPA licenses. As of August 2026, its homepage, About Us, and FAQ pages describe the team as “licensed CPAs” with Big Four accounting firm experience — but never name the licensing jurisdiction, a US state board of accountancy, or any US credential. The public evidence cited earlier in this review points to the team being based in the Philippines, where the CPA credential is issued by the Professional Regulation Commission (PRC), not a US state board. If a US-licensed CPA matters for your situation, ask any provider which state issued the license and verify it on that state board’s public license lookup. (For transparency: Maxim Liberty doesn’t claim US CPA licensure either — we provide supervised offshore bookkeeping from $75/month and work under our clients’ CPAs, not in place of them.)
Does BrainyAdvisors have any CPAs?
Based on its own website, yes — BrainyAdvisors says every accountant on its team is a licensed CPA with Big Four experience (EY, PwC, KPMG, or Deloitte). But if you’re asking this from the United States, you’re likely assuming “CPA” means a US-state-licensed CPA — and their site does not say that. The CPA title exists in several countries, and a Philippine CPA license does not authorize practice as a CPA in any US state. See “Is a Philippines CPA the same as a US CPA?” below for what the two credentials can and can’t do.
Is a Philippines CPA the same as a US CPA? Can they file my US tax return?
No, they are not equivalent. A Philippines CPA license is issued by the Philippines Professional Regulation Commission (PRC) and authorizes practice in the Philippines only. A US CPA license is issued by a US state board of accountancy (coordinated through NASBA) and is what’s legally required to sign US tax returns as a CPA, perform audit or attest work in a US state, and represent clients before the IRS.
A Philippines PRC-licensed CPA can prepare US tax returns for compensation if they obtain an IRS PTIN (Preparer Tax Identification Number), but they cannot: (a) sign the return as a CPA, (b) represent the client before the IRS during audit or examination, (c) hold themselves out as a CPA in US client-facing communications, or (d) perform audit or attest work that requires a US state CPA license. To represent a client before the IRS, the practitioner must be a US-licensed CPA, an IRS Enrolled Agent (EA), or a US attorney.
There is no automatic reciprocity between the PRC and US state boards. A Philippines CPA who wants US CPA credentials must: re-evaluate education through NASBA International Evaluation Services, sit the US Uniform CPA Examination, complete US state-specific experience requirements, and pay licensing fees in the chosen state. BrainyAdvisors does not state on its website whether any of its publicly-listed CPA team members hold US state board credentials, and we found no such credential listed (checked 10 September 2026). Absence of a public listing is not proof either way — ask them directly if a US-licensed CPA of record matters to you. Maxim Liberty is not a CPA firm. We position ourselves as a behind-the-scenes bookkeeping partner for US-licensed CPA firms — the CPA firm you engage stays the CPA-of-record for the end client, and Maxim Liberty handles the bookkeeping work behind the scenes. This is a structural fit for CPAs who want offshore-priced bookkeeping help without ceding the CPA-of-record relationship.
Is BrainyAdvisors BBB accredited?
No. BrainyAdvisors does not have a BBB profile on file. By contrast, Maxim Liberty is BBB Accredited with an A+ rating, providing an active US channel for any client complaints.
How much does BrainyAdvisors cost?
BrainyAdvisors prices by monthly COGS and expense brackets, with discounts on annual billing: Micro (starting out) $125/mo (annual only); Startups & Small (<$30k COGS) $195/mo annual or $229/mo monthly; Medium ($30k–$80k COGS) $325/mo annual or $379/mo monthly; Large ($80k–$150k COGS) $595/mo annual or $699/mo monthly; Enterprise ($150k+ COGS) custom. The first month is free. Annual billing requires a 12-month commitment.
How does BrainyAdvisors pricing compare to Maxim Liberty?
Maxim Liberty publishes hour-based monthly tiers that often deliver comparable scope at lower cost: $75/mo for 5 hours (cash or accrual), $150/mo for 10 hours with weekly updates (cash or accrual), and $300/mo for 20 hours with Bill Pay and customer invoicing. For a BrainyAdvisors Medium customer paying $325/mo annual ($379 monthly) for $30k–$80k COGS bookkeeping, Maxim Liberty’s $300/mo enterprise plan delivers comparable scope with Bill Pay included — and on month-to-month billing rather than a 12-month lock-in. For high-COGS businesses (restaurants, e-commerce), hour-based pricing avoids the expense-bracket penalty.
Does BrainyAdvisors have a CPA firm white-label plan?
Yes — BrainyAdvisors offers a CPA Firm Support service with four distinct offerings: Ghost Bookkeeping (white-label behind the scenes), Busy Season Flex-Staffing, Ongoing Strategic Partnerships, and Client Audit Support. However, the service does NOT publish per-entity rates — every CPA engagement requires a custom quote. By contrast, Maxim Liberty’s CPA plan is entity-tiered with published rates: $75/mo for 1 entity, $150/mo for 2 entities, $225/mo for 3 entities, and $300/mo for 4+ entities (30 hours at $10/hour, unlimited entities); overflow at $10/hour. The CPA plan does not include AP/AR/payroll/FP&A — for those, Maxim Liberty offers an enterprise engagement with controller-grade supervision.
Are BrainyAdvisors customer reviews verified?
BrainyAdvisors has 4 verified reviews on Clutch with strong ratings. The team also has a Capterra listing. There is no TrustPilot, G2, or BBB review presence. For a newer brand (copyright dates 2023–2024), the review footprint is small. Maxim Liberty, by comparison, has 14 verified Clutch reviews plus 4.9 out of 5 across 92 reviews on Trustindex, a 4.9 Trustindex rating, and a BBB A+ accreditation — a substantially larger independent verification footprint.
What is the best alternative to BrainyAdvisors for a small business?
If your priority is published hour-based pricing (not expense-bracket), BBB accountability, and month-to-month flexibility instead of an annual commitment, Maxim Liberty is a stronger match — same offshore delivery cost structure, San Juan, PR (US-registered entity), BBB A+ accredited, with 20+ years of US-based operating history and plans starting at $75/mo with no annual lock-in.