Kruze Consulting Review (2026): Pricing, What Each Tier Excludes & Better Alternatives
Home Resources Kruze Consulting Review

A CPA Firm at $650–$1,500 a Month vs. Bookkeeping at $75

Kruze Consulting Review (2026): Pricing, What Each Tier Excludes & Better Alternatives

Last Updated: October 3, 2026

Kruze Consulting is a licensed CPA firm serving venture-backed startups, founded and led by Vanessa Kruze, CPA. We are not a CPA firm, so let us put the honest frame up front: if you need a CPA to sign a return, issue an opinion, run an R&D credit study or produce a 409A valuation, that is Kruze and not us. What this review compares is the one thing we both do — keeping the books — and the price of it. Kruze publishes $650 to $850 a month for its Basic tier and $850 to $1,500 for Founder Timesaver, with Premium on request. All figures from kruzeconsulting.com/pricing, checked 3 October 2026.

Transparency Note: This review is researched and published by Maxim Liberty. While we are a direct competitor, we have utilized objective pricing data, BBB ratings, and verified customer reviews to provide a fair market analysis of the best bookkeeping services available. Every third-party fact on this page is sourced and dated, and quotes are verbatim and linked. Ratings, pricing and company details change over time, so please check the linked source before relying on any figure. If you find an inaccuracy, tell us and we will correct it.

Build Your Plan: Kruze Consulting vs. Maxim Liberty

Kruze Consulting is a CPA firm serving venture-backed startups, and publishes its bookkeeping tiers as ranges rather than prices. Answer the questions below and we will show what each would cost for the same work.

Services you need

Table of Contents

Kruze vs. Maxim Liberty: At a Glance

Factors Kruze Consulting Maxim Liberty The Advantage
Customer Rating
✅

5.0 on Google

5.0 Google (29 reviews)

A perfect Google score across 29 reviews, with every review a 5-star, for its San Francisco office, where the listing categorises the firm as a certified public accountant. Its G2 seller profile and Trustpilot profile both hold no reviews (checked 3 October 2026).
✅

Both excellent
BBB Rating
×

No BBB profile located

We could not locate a US BBB profile for Kruze Consulting by name or by domain, or via a site-restricted search (checked 3 October 2026). BBB’s own search is unreliable for absence — it fails to surface some profiles that do exist — so treat this as not found rather than confirmed absent
✅

A+ (Accredited)

BBB A+ accredited, with published customer reviews
BBB A+ vs. none
Licensed CPA Firm
✅

Yes

Founded and led by Vanessa Kruze, CPA, and listed on Google as a certified public accountant. A genuine advantage we cannot match
!

No — bookkeeping only

We are a bookkeeping company, not a CPA firm. We prepare tax-ready books and work alongside your CPA, and we say so rather than implying otherwise
Kruze, clearly
Entry-Level Pricing
×

$650/mo

Basic tier, $650 to $850 depending on complexity. Their bookkeeping page states most engagements run $650 to $1,500 a month
✅

$75/mo

Standard plan: 5 hours included, additional hours $15/hr. 94% of Standard clients bill the plan minimum
About 9× cheaper
Accounting Basis
✅

Accrual on every tier

Accrual-basis bookkeeping is listed on Basic, Founder Timesaver and Premium alike — better than providers who gate accrual behind an upgrade. A cash-basis option is not mentioned
✅

Cash or accrual

Either basis at the same hourly rate, chosen by you
Both strong
Class & Department Tracking
×

Excluded at $650

Their own table marks class and department tracking No at Basic, Available at Founder Timesaver ($850–$1,500) and Yes at Premium
✅

Enterprise plan, $300/mo

$300/mo for 20 hours, covering class and department tracking and any software including industry-specific and ERP
Half the price
Multi-Entity Consolidation
×

Premium tier only

Marked No at both Basic and Founder Timesaver, and only Available at Premium, which is priced on request
✅

Wholesale plan, $300/mo

$300/mo for 30 hours, additional $10/hr. Our $300/mo CPA plan covers unlimited entities
Published vs. on request
Software Freedom
!

QuickBooks

Kruze works in QuickBooks alongside Brex, Ramp and Bill.com. Xero and NetSuite are not mentioned
✅

Any — you keep your own file

QuickBooks Online, Xero, Zoho, FreshBooks, Wave and Sage on standard plans; industry-specific and ERP on Enterprise
Wider choice
Catch-Up Bookkeeping
×

Not published

kruzeconsulting.com publishes no catch-up or cleanup pricing
✅

$75 per month behind

Up to 5 hours a month, then $15/hr, with no limit on how far back we go
Published vs. unpublished
Recon Frequency
!

Monthly

A monthly close with a monthly call on every tier. No weekly or daily option is published
✅

Monthly, weekly or daily

Monthly on Standard, weekly on Premium ($150/mo), daily on Enterprise ($300/mo)
Three cadences
Payroll & Sales Tax
×

Not published

No payroll or sales-tax filing rate appears on the pricing page
✅

Both published

Payroll $50 per run + $10 per employee; sales tax $50 per filing
Every rate published
Money-Back Guarantee
×

None published

No money-back guarantee, trial or refund policy appears on the pricing page
✅

100% money-back guarantee

On your 1st retainer, refundable on the unused balance
Risk on us
Contract
!

Not published

A fixed monthly fee is advertised, but contract length and cancellation terms are not stated
✅

Cancel anytime

$900 for 60 hours. 100% money back guarantee on 1st retainer. Refund on unused balance after that.
Terms published
Staff Location
!

Not published

kruzeconsulting.com does not state where its accounting staff are based
✅

US-registered, delivery centers in India

Disclosed on our About page, not buried
Disclosed either way

CPA Firm or Bookkeeper: Which Do You Actually Need?

Most comparisons in this market quietly blur the line. We would rather draw it.

A CPA firm can sign and file your tax return, represent you before the IRS, issue an opinion on your financial statements, run an R&D credit study and produce a 409A valuation. Kruze does all of that. If you are raising a priced round and need a defensible 409A, or claiming R&D credits against payroll tax, you need a firm like Kruze and no amount of good bookkeeping substitutes for it.

A bookkeeping company records transactions, reconciles accounts, maintains the ledger, produces monthly financial statements and hands your CPA a clean, tax-ready file. That is what we do. We are explicit about it in writing, because the alternative — letting you assume we are CPAs — is the sort of thing this whole site exists to call out.

The practical question is which you are paying for. Kruze’s own bookkeeping page says founders should bring in professional bookkeeping when they have closed a seed round and investors expect accrual books, when they are processing 50 or more transactions a month, or when they are heading into a first audit, tax filing or due diligence. Two of those three are bookkeeping triggers, not CPA triggers. A company doing 50 to 500 transactions a month with no audit and no priced round in sight is paying $650 a month for bookkeeping it can get for $75, and can hire a CPA for the return when the return is due.

Kruze Pricing and What Each Tier Excludes

Kruze publishes ranges rather than prices, with the band set “Based on Complexity”. Their bookkeeping page is more direct: “Most Kruze bookkeeping engagements run $650 to $1,500 per month, billed as a fixed monthly fee. Your exact cost depends on transaction volume, complexity…”

Plan Published price
Basic $650 – $850 per month
Founder Timesaver $850 – $1,500 per month
Premium Contact us

The feature matrix is where the detail sits. Reproduced from their own table:

Feature Basic Founder Timesaver Premium
Accrual-basis bookkeeping Yes Yes Yes
Dedicated accounting manager Yes Yes Yes
Monthly call with accounting manager Included Included Included
Tax services Available Available Available
GAAP-compliant revenue recognition support No Yes Yes
Multiple entities, consolidation No No Available
Class / department tracking No Available Yes

Credit where it is due: accrual-basis bookkeeping is included on every tier, and a dedicated accounting manager with a monthly call comes as standard. Several providers we review charge extra for accrual or gate it behind an upgrade — Xendoo puts full accrual on a Custom plan, and CoCountant starts it at Scale. Kruze does not play that game.

The catch at the entry price: at $650 a month you do not get GAAP revenue recognition support, class or department tracking, or multi-entity consolidation. Class tracking becomes available at $850 to $1,500, and multi-entity only at Premium, which carries no published price. For context, our Enterprise plan is $300 a month for 20 hours and covers class and department tracking in any software, and our wholesale plan is $300 a month for 30 hours with unlimited entities.

What is not published at all: catch-up or cleanup pricing, payroll, sales-tax filing, accounts payable, accounts receivable, contract length, cancellation terms, any money-back guarantee, and where the accounting staff are based. Tax returns, R&D credits, fractional CFO work, VC due diligence, M&A accounting, financial modelling and 409A valuations are all offered without published rates.

The Public Review Evidence

Kruze has a strong but narrow public record: excellent on Google, absent everywhere else. Read from the platforms on 3 October 2026.

  • Google: 5.0/5 across 29 reviews for its San Francisco office at 600 California Street, where the listing categorises the firm as a certified public accountant. A perfect score on 29 reviews means there are no critical reviews for us to quote, and we are not going to invent one.
  • G2: its seller profile carries 0 reviews across one listing.
  • Trustpilot: no reviews; the profile is unclaimed.
  • Better Business Bureau: no US BBB profile found for the firm (bbb.org search; the nearest result is an unrelated engineering consultancy).

For comparison, Maxim Liberty holds 5.0 from 14 verified Clutch reviews and 4.9 across 92 reviews on Trustindex, plus BBB A+ Accreditation and named CPA testimonials. On review quality there is nothing to separate us; we have the BBB accreditation, they have a CPA licence.

Who Kruze Is Best For

If you are… Better choice Why
Raising a priced round and needing a 409A valuation Kruze A licensed CPA firm that does 409A work in-house. We do not, and cannot.
Claiming R&D credits or facing an audit Kruze R&D credit studies and audit support need a CPA firm. We prepare the books an auditor will ask for and stop there.
A VC-backed startup wanting books, tax and CFO advice from one licensed firm Kruze One vendor, one relationship, and investors recognise the name.
A small business that needs accurate monthly books and already has a CPA Maxim Liberty $75/mo against $650. Your CPA files the return; we keep the ledger clean for them.
Needing class or department tracking on a budget Maxim Liberty Excluded at Kruze’s $650 Basic tier. Included on our $300/mo Enterprise plan.
Running multiple entities Maxim Liberty Kruze puts consolidation on Premium, priced on request. Our $300/mo wholesale plan covers unlimited entities.
Behind on your books Maxim Liberty Kruze publishes no catch-up price. Ours is $75 per month behind with no limit on how far back.
On Xero, Sage, Zoho or QuickBooks Desktop Maxim Liberty Kruze works in QuickBooks. We work in the file you already own.
Wanting weekly or daily reconciliation Maxim Liberty Kruze publishes a monthly close only. We offer weekly at $150/mo and daily at $300/mo.

Pros and Cons

✓ Pros

  • A licensed CPA firm — returns, audits, R&D credits and 409A valuations all under one roof
  • Accrual-basis bookkeeping on every tier, with no upgrade required
  • A dedicated accounting manager and a monthly call included at every level
  • 5.0 out of 5 across 29 Google reviews, with no critical reviews anywhere
  • Publishes its bookkeeping bands rather than hiding behind “contact us” entirely
  • States plainly when a startup should hire a bookkeeper — 50+ transactions a month, a closed seed round, or a first audit
  • Deep venture-stage expertise that generalist providers do not have

✗ Cons

  • Entry price $650/mo — roughly nine times our Standard plan
  • Prices are ranges set “based on complexity”, so the real figure is unknown until you ask
  • Class and department tracking excluded at the $650 tier
  • Multi-entity consolidation only on Premium, which has no published price
  • GAAP revenue recognition support excluded at Basic
  • QuickBooks only — Xero and NetSuite are not mentioned
  • Monthly close only; no weekly or daily option published
  • No catch-up, payroll, sales-tax, A/P or A/R pricing published
  • No contract terms, cancellation policy or money-back guarantee published
  • Staff location not published; no BBB profile
  • Built for VC-backed startups — an unfunded small business is not the target customer

Kruze Alternatives Worth Comparing

  1. Maxim Liberty — best for cost and software freedom. $75/mo for 5 hours, additional hours $15/hr, any accounting software, cash or accrual, catch-up at $75 per month behind, 100% money-back guarantee on your first retainer. Not a CPA firm — we work alongside yours.
  2. Pilot — closest startup-focused comparison. $399/mo month to month for Core, cash or accrual, US-based bookkeeper on Core only (pilot.com/pricing).
  3. Zeni — if you want a bundled controller. From $549/mo with a controller, bookkeeping manager and analyst, though QuickBooks Online Plus is required.
  4. Fondo — cheapest for a dormant C-corp. $950/yr for an annual close, $399/mo for monthly, plus TaxPass from $1,450/yr.
  5. Bookkeeper360 — best for bundled HR and payroll. US-based team with dashboard tooling from $399/month (bookkeeper360.com).

Ready to simplify your bookkeeping?

Partner with Maxim Liberty for reliable, affordable bookkeeping services backed by a dedicated support team.

Get Started

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does Kruze Consulting cost?

Kruze publishes bookkeeping tiers as ranges: Basic at $650 to $850 a month and Founder Timesaver at $850 to $1,500 a month, both priced on complexity, with Premium on request. Its bookkeeping page states that most engagements run $650 to $1,500 a month as a fixed monthly fee, depending on transaction volume and complexity (kruzeconsulting.com/pricing, checked 3 October 2026). Tax returns, R&D credits, fractional CFO work and 409A valuations are offered without published rates.

Is Kruze Consulting a CPA firm?

Yes. It was founded and is led by Vanessa Kruze, CPA, and its Google Business listing categorises it as a certified public accountant. Maxim Liberty is not a CPA firm. We keep books, produce monthly financial statements and hand your CPA a tax-ready file. If you need a signed return, an audit opinion, an R&D credit study or a 409A valuation, you need a firm like Kruze.

Does Kruze include accrual-basis bookkeeping?

Yes, on all three tiers, which is better than several providers in this market who gate accrual behind a plan upgrade. A cash-basis option is not mentioned on the pricing page.

What does the $650 Kruze plan not include?

Per their own feature table, the Basic tier excludes GAAP-compliant revenue recognition support, class and department tracking, and multi-entity consolidation. Class tracking becomes available on Founder Timesaver at $850 to $1,500 a month, and multi-entity consolidation only on Premium, which is priced on request.

What accounting software does Kruze use?

QuickBooks, integrating with tools such as Brex, Ramp and Bill.com. Xero and NetSuite are not mentioned. Maxim Liberty works inside whichever accounting file you already own, including Xero, Zoho, FreshBooks, Wave and Sage.

Does Kruze publish catch-up bookkeeping prices?

No. There is no catch-up or cleanup pricing on the site, nor any rate for payroll, sales-tax filing, accounts payable or accounts receivable. Maxim Liberty charges $75 per month behind for catch-up, covering up to five hours a month, then $15 an hour.

Does Kruze offer a money-back guarantee?

None is published, and no contract length or cancellation terms appear on the pricing page either. Maxim Liberty offers a 100% money-back guarantee on your first retainer, refundable on the unused balance.

Kruze Consulting or Maxim Liberty?

It depends on whether you are buying a CPA firm or a bookkeeper. If you are venture-backed and need a 409A valuation, R&D credits, audit support and a signed return from one licensed firm, Kruze is the right answer and we would tell you so. If you need accurate monthly books in whatever software you already use, and you either have a CPA or will hire one when the return is due, our Standard plan is $75 a month against $650.

The Bottom Line

Kruze Consulting is a good CPA firm doing a job we cannot do. Accrual books on every tier, a dedicated accounting manager with a monthly call, 5.0 across 29 Google reviews, and a licence that lets them sign your return and value your stock. For a venture-backed startup heading into a priced round or an audit, that package is worth $650 to $1,500 a month and we are not going to argue it down.

The question is whether you are that company. At the $650 entry tier you do not get class tracking, department tracking or GAAP revenue recognition support, and multi-entity consolidation sits on a Premium tier with no published price. Catch-up, payroll, sales tax, A/P, A/R, contract terms and any money-back guarantee are all unpublished. And the firm is built for funded startups — a profitable small business doing 300 transactions a month is paying CPA-firm rates for bookkeeping.

If what you need is clean monthly books at a published price, in the software you already own, with your existing CPA filing the return, that is exactly what we do — and we will say plainly when you need them instead of us.

Need accurate books rather than a CPA firm?

Maxim Liberty keeps books from $75 a month — 5 hours included, additional hours $15/hr, cash or accrual, in whatever accounting software you already use. Class and department tracking is on our Enterprise plan at $300/mo, and unlimited entities on our $300/mo wholesale plan. Catch-up is $75 per month behind. Your first retainer carries a 100% money-back guarantee, refundable on the unused balance.

See Our Pricing