Merritt Bookkeeping Review – 8 Reasons Maxim Liberty is Better
Merritt Bookkeeping advertises $250 a month for small business bookkeeping, a rate designed to simplify financial management. That figure holds up to roughly 500 transactions a month; above it Merritt quotes $0.50 per transaction, with the $250 acting as a minimum rather than a cap. In this blog, we provide an objective review of Merritt Bookkeeping, compare it with Maxim Liberty, and outline the key differences to help you make an informed decision.
Transparency Note: This review is researched and published by Maxim Liberty. While we are a direct competitor, we have utilized objective pricing data, BBB ratings, and verified customer reviews to provide a fair market analysis of the best bookkeeping services available. Every third-party fact on this page is sourced and dated, and quotes are verbatim and linked. Ratings, pricing and company details change over time, so please check the linked source before relying on any figure. If you find an inaccuracy, tell us and we will correct it.
Introduction to Merritt Bookkeeping
Merritt Bookkeeping is known for its fixed pricing model, offering basic bookkeeping services for $250 per month. While this simplicity appeals to many small businesses, additional aspects of the service may influence its overall value.
Key Features of Merritt Bookkeeping
- Advertised rate of $250 per month.
- Books kept in QuickBooks (their site does not specify Online vs Desktop; checked Aug 24, 2026).
- No daily or weekly reconciliation plans listed on merrittbookkeeping.com.
- Month-to-month — no contracts.
Prefer a human-led team over software lock-in? Our virtual bookkeeping services start at $75/month — in the software you already own.
Pricing Breakdown
Merritt Bookkeeping’s advertised $250 per month covers standard bookkeeping tasks up to roughly 500 transactions. However, additional charges for businesses requiring catchup services or other non-standard features may apply.
Catchup Charges: A Closer Look
For businesses needing catchup bookkeeping, Merritt Bookkeeping charges $200 per month for past periods (a 20% discount off their standard $250 rate, per their site). For example, catchup for one year can cost $2,400.
In comparison, Maxim Liberty charges $75 per catch-up month — covering up to 5 hours of work per month, with additional hours at $15/hr. A business a full year behind pays about $900 rather than Merritt’s $2,400, and there is no limit on how far back we go.
Merritt vs. Maxim Liberty: Detailed Comparison
| Factors | Merritt Bookkeeping | Maxim Liberty | Advantage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Customer Rating | 4.9 weighted average Trustindex 4.9 (92)Clutch 5.0 (14)Trustindex aggregates Google (57), Trustindex (10), Yelp (9), G2 (7), Facebook (5) and BBB (4) | Verified on more platforms | |
| BBB Accreditation | Accredited (A+ rated) | BBB Accredited | |
| Built-in Supervision | ×Not listed on merrittbookkeeping.com | Yes — every plan includes an assigned bookkeeper and a supervisor who reviews the work before it reaches you, from $75/mo | Checked, not just done |
| Bookkeeping Services Pricing | $250/mo(up to 500 transactions). Additional $0.50/trans. | $75/mo(up to 5 hours). Additional $15/hr. | 70% Savings |
| Catchup Charges | $200/mo (e.g., $2,400 for a year behind) | $75/mo per catch-up month (e.g., $900 for a year behind) | 62.5% Savings |
| Software | QuickBooks Online | Any, best of breed | Flexible software options |
| Industry Specific Bookkeeping Service | ×No | Yes — QuickBooks for Construction, Sage CRE, Buildium for Property Management, AppFolio for Property Management, etc. | Industry software support |
| Weekly Reconciliations | ×No | Yes, with Premium Plan ($150/mo up to 10 hours, additional $15/hr) | More frequent reconciliations |
| Daily Reconciliations | ×No | Yes, with Enterprise plan ($300/mo up to 20 hours, additional $15/hr) | Real-time reconciliations with AP, AR, payroll & sales tax filings |
| AP / AR | ×No Merritt states it focuses on “just bookkeeping” (merrittbookkeeping.com, retrieved 7 September 2026) | Yes, with Enterprise plan ($300/mo up to 20 hours, additional $15/hr) | One provider |
| Payroll | ×No | Yes, with Enterprise plan ($300/mo up to 20 hours, additional $15/hr) | One provider |
| Sales tax filings | ×No | Yes, with Enterprise plan ($300/mo up to 20 hours, additional $15/hr) | One provider |
| Inventory management | ×No | Yes, with Enterprise plan ($300/mo up to 20 hours, additional $15/hr) | Inventory tracked |
| Special Plan for CPAs | ×No | Yes, white-label service at $10/hr | Single plan to support multiple clients |
| Tax Services | ×No | Yes | Single source for bookkeeping and taxes |
| Money Back Guarantee | Yes — full refund if not satisfied in the first 3 months | 100% money-back guarantee on 1st retainer, refundable on the unused balance | 100% Money Back Guarantee |
Published: Merritt Bookkeeping pricing per merrittbookkeeping.com ($250 per month, no pricing tiers, no contracts, no hidden fees; catch-up at $200/month — a 20% discount — whether or not you already have a QuickBooks file, dropping to $100/month for months that are already mostly complete and need fewer than 20 transactions entered; full refund if not satisfied within the first 3 months), retrieved 7 September 2026. Quoted: Above roughly 500 transactions a month Merritt quotes $0.50 per transaction, with the $250 figure acting as a minimum rather than a cap, and quotes catch-up work on that same per-transaction basis. This structure is not stated on its published pricing page. Maxim Liberty pricing per our pricing page, published in full
Merritt Bookkeeping Reviews: What Third-Party Sources Show
We checked Merritt’s public review presence in August 2026, and the honest summary is: it is genuinely strong. Merritt holds 4.9★ across 133 Google reviews (retrieved 24 August 2026) and 4.9★ across 57 Yelp reviews (retrieved 23 August 2026). A Trustpilot profile for merrittbookkeeping.com exists but contains a single review and is categorized under an unrelated industry — not a meaningful sample, so we don’t count it either way.
In the last three years of Yelp history we found exactly one critical review — and in fairness we quote it with Merritt’s reply. From tina r. (March 10, 2025, 1★): “Completely misleading! I went with this firm based on their reviews. The onboarding and set-up was great. The problem came in when I sent my year-end financials to my Accountant and he couldn’t work with the files due to numerous errors.” Merritt’s owner publicly responded on June 18, 2025, disputing the account and stating the firm offered the client a refund. Both sides are on the Yelp page; it is the only sub-4-star review of the period.
Applying the same standard to ourselves: Maxim Liberty’s lowest-rated reviews of the last three years are all 5-star — 4.9★ across 92 reviews on Trustindex, and 5.0 from 14 verified reviews on Clutch. Both firms, in other words, arrive with strong review records; the differences worth weighing are the ones covered above — scope, software flexibility, and pricing structure.
Merritt’s largest independent review presence is on Yelp, where the San Diego listing shows 4.9 out of 5 across 57 reviews (retrieved 7 September 2026). The company holds an A+ rating with the BBB but is not BBB accredited, and its BBB profile shows 0 customer reviews (retrieved 7 September 2026). It also holds 4.0 out of 5 from 2 reviews on G2 (retrieved 7 September 2026). On the independent platforms where Merritt does appear, the feedback is strongly positive.
By comparison, Maxim Liberty has been in business for 20+ years with 4.9-star average across 92 reviews on Trustindex, BBB A+ accreditation with 5.0-star reviews, and the #1 spot on the 2026 Clutch Leaders Matrix for bookkeeping services.
On a Budget: What the Cheapest Advertised Rate Leaves Out
Merritt is the name most often recommended when price is the deciding factor, and at an advertised $250/month it is genuinely inexpensive for what it does. The honest comparison is not just the number — it is what the number covers, because a lower price that excludes the work you need is not the cheaper option.
Reading the $250 Rate Properly
- $250/month is the whole menu. Merritt does one thing — monthly bookkeeping in QuickBooks — and does it at a fixed price. There are no tiers to climb, which is a real virtue.
- But it is one thing. Payroll, AP/AR, sales tax filing, 1099s and inventory are not mentioned anywhere on merrittbookkeeping.com’s home, pricing or how-it-works pages (checked 10 September 2026), so we treat them as unanswered rather than as services Merritt refuses. If you need any of them you are hiring a second provider, and the combined cost is what you should compare.
- Our entry price is lower. Maxim Liberty’s Standard plan is $75/month with 5 hours included, then $15/hour — so a business with straightforward books pays substantially less, and one with heavier needs pays only for the hours it actually uses.
- Catch-up is priced per backlog month. Merritt discounts prior-year work off its monthly rate; we charge $75 per catch-up month (up to 5 hours, then $15/hr), which is the lower figure on most backlogs.
| What You Need | Merritt Bookkeeping | Maxim Liberty | Advantage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Basic monthly books | $250/mo(up to 500 transactions). Additional $0.50/trans. | Standard $75/mo5 hours included. Additional $15/hr. | $2,100 / Yr Savings |
| Catchup Charges | $200/moPer past month, at a 20% discount off the monthly rate. | $75 per catch-up monthUp to 5 hrs, then $15/hr. | Lower Backlog Cost |
| Software Freedom | ! QuickBooks only “We use QuickBooks because it’s the industry standard and it’s what most accountants prefer.” Merritt adds that “although we keep your books in QuickBooks, you don’t have to use QuickBooks” — the alternative offered is a spreadsheet, not another ledger (per merrittbookkeeping.com, retrieved 14 September 2026). | ANY (Industry Standard) QuickBooks Online or Desktop, Xero, Sage, Wave, Zoho Books, FreshBooks, NetSuite and many more — we learn your stack rather than migrating you onto ours. | Flexibility |
| Data Ownership | ! Spreadsheet hand-off “Once we finish your bookkeeping, we transfer your QuickBooks data into a simple spreadsheet we’ve developed.” No exit or data-transfer terms are published. | You The account is opened in your name and paid for by you. Nothing needs transferring when you leave, because the file was never ours. | Portability |
| Payroll, AP/AR, sales tax, 1099s | ×No | All supported at $15/hr | One Provider |
| Accrual basis | ×No — cash basis onlyMerritt confirmed it does not do accrual bookkeeping. An accrual presentation depends on A/P and A/R balances you maintain and supply. | Cash or accrual at the same rate | Either Basis |
| Email Support | Email onlyMerritt confirmed all communication is by email. | UnlimitedNo cap on email support. | Unlimited |
| Phone Support | ×NoMerritt confirmed no phone support is offered. | Scheduled1 scheduled call a month; additional calls $20. | Talk to a Human |
| Recon Frequency | Monthly | Daily, weekly, or monthly | Your Cadence |
Merritt terms per merrittbookkeeping.com, retrieved 7 September 2026 — Merritt publishes a $250/month rate, a money-back guarantee, and works in QuickBooks. Above roughly 500 transactions a month Merritt quotes $0.50 per transaction, with $250 acting as a minimum rather than a cap; that structure is not stated on its published pricing page. Maxim Liberty rates per our published pricing. Scopes differ: Merritt is a single-scope service; Maxim Liberty bills hours worked across a wider service range. Merritt’s simplicity is a genuine advantage for businesses that need only monthly categorization.
Is hourly really less predictable than flat?
Merritt’s strongest argument is predictability: one number, every month, no hour tracking. It is a fair point, and worth answering with data rather than assertion. Across our complete invoice records for August 2025 – July 2026, 94% of clients on our 5-hour Standard plan were billed the plan minimum and nothing else — no overage hours at all across the full twelve months — with median actual usage around 3.5 hours a month. In practice the $75 plan behaves like a flat rate for the overwhelming majority of clients, at less than a third of Merritt’s $250, and the months you do need more are metered at $15/hr instead of pushing you into a bigger plan. The full breakdown is here.
Merritt Bookkeeping Alternatives Worth Comparing
Maxim Liberty is our recommended alternative for businesses that want month-to-month, hourly-billed bookkeeping in the accounting software of your choice instead of an annual binding retainer. Here are the four worth shortlisting in 2026:
- Maxim Liberty — best overall Merritt Bookkeeping alternative. Human-led bookkeeping in your QuickBooks, Xero, or Sage account from $75/month, cash or accrual basis, with catch-up included and a 100% money-back guarantee on 1st retainer, refundable on the unused balance. 20+ years in business, BBB A+ accredited, and #1 on the 2026 Clutch Leaders Matrix.
- Bench — most turnkey proprietary platform. Bookkeeping Grow from $199/month for businesses under $250K in revenue; Core from $399/month, Core + Tax from $649/month, all billed monthly (per bench.co, retrieved 27 September 2026); now owned by Employer.com, which has consolidated brands under MainStreet, though the site still brands as Bench.
- Pilot — best for VC-backed startups. AI-driven bookkeeping from $99/month, human-led Core from $299/month billed annually (per pilot.com/pricing, retrieved Aug 28, 2026).
- RemoteBooks Online — lowest-cost per-account model. 4.7 on Trustpilot across 195 reviews (retrieved 11 September 2026), with pricing tied to account count rather than hours.
Also see our other provider reviews:
- RemoteBooks Online review — a deep-dive into RBO’s per-account pricing model, BBB complaints, and how it stacks up against full-service alternatives.
- TOA Global review — Australia-based offshore staffing for accounting practices with quote-only pricing.
- CoCountant review — controller-led bookkeeping with annual-billed plans from $160 to $1,790/month and a class-tracking paywall.
Conclusion
Merritt Bookkeeping provides an accessible solution for small businesses seeking straightforward bookkeeping at a low advertised rate. However, that rate is a minimum rather than a cap above roughly 500 transactions a month, and additional charges for catch-up bookkeeping and the lack of flexibility in software options may affect its suitability for some businesses.
Maxim Liberty offers customizable services with transparent hourly pricing, daily reconciliations, and a money-back guarantee. These features may appeal to businesses that prioritize flexibility and cost control. Ultimately, the choice depends on your business’s specific needs. If you want to outsource your bookkeeping with accrual support included, see how Maxim Liberty structures it.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Merritt Bookkeeping really a flat $250 a month?
What Merritt publishes. merrittbookkeeping.com advertises “Fixed $250/month!” alongside “No pricing tiers,” “No contracts” and “No hidden fees” (checked 25 September 2026). Nothing on the home, pricing or how-it-works pages states a transaction allowance, so on the published information alone the $250 reads as 100%. What we got by asking. We put a high-volume scenario to Merritt directly. The flat rate holds up to roughly 500 transactions a month. Above that, pricing moves to $0.50 per transaction, with the $250 acting as a minimum rather than a cap, and it is priced per company. On Merritt’s own worked example, 600 transactions in a month comes to $300 and 1,000 comes to $500. Catch-up work is quoted on that same per-transaction basis rather than a flat monthly figure, with a 20% discount applied to the initial catch-up bill. Merritt also offered to group repeated payments to the same vendor into a single monthly entry to bring the count back under the threshold — a genuinely useful suggestion, and one that exists only because the threshold does. What it means for you. Merritt answered promptly and in full when we asked, so nothing was withheld from us. But a high-volume business reading only the website would budget $250 and learn the real figure later. Maxim Liberty publishes its rate in the open: $15 an hour with a $75/mo minimum, and no transaction ceiling at any volume. The estimator above shows both at your own volume.
Is Merritt Bookkeeping US-based?
Yes — Merritt is a US company, headquartered in San Diego, California and founded in 2009. The question most buyers are actually asking is a different one: where will my transactions be entered, and by whom? In outsourced bookkeeping those are rarely the same place. “US-based” usually describes where a firm is registered and where its client-facing staff sit, not where the ledger work happens. Merritt’s home, pricing and how-it-works pages describe “Real Humans” and name its owners, but state nothing about the location of the production team (checked 25 September 2026). So we asked. Merritt told us directly that while its owners and part of the team are in San Diego, its bookkeeping workforce is based in Coimbatore, India — a dedicated team Merritt says it trains and oversees itself rather than work sub-contracted to another firm, operating under strict security protocols, with Merritt taking full responsibility for client accounts. That is a reasonable arrangement, and a close cousin of our own. The point is not that offshore production is a defect. It is that none of this appears anywhere on merrittbookkeeping.com, so a buyer who cares about it would never know to weigh it unless they thought to ask. Maxim Liberty publishes its structure rather than leaving it to be asked: founded in Vienna, Virginia in 2005, incorporated in Puerto Rico — a US territory under US business and regulatory law — in 2022, with dedicated production operations in South India that we own and manage directly. Not a shared offshore staffing pool, not a third-party subcontractor. Senior review and account management remain US-headquartered, and the split is what lets us return most ledgers overnight. It is all on our About page with dates. Our advice when comparing any provider, including us: ask where your transactions will be entered, ask who reviews them, and ask for the answer in writing. Every firm should be willing to tell you. One that already publishes it has answered before you asked.
Is Merritt Bookkeeping a good service?
Merritt Bookkeeping offers affordable bookkeeping at a low advertised monthly rate. However, their published scope covers core bookkeeping, and the site references QuickBooks (it does not specify Online versus Desktop). Businesses needing AP/AR management, industry-specific expertise, or multi-platform support may need a more comprehensive provider like Maxim Liberty.
How much does Merritt Bookkeeping cost?
Merritt advertises $250 a month, which holds up to roughly 500 transactions. Above that it quotes $0.50 per transaction, with $250 acting as a minimum rather than a cap. However, additional services come at extra cost. Maxim Liberty provides full-service bookkeeping starting at $75 per month with a 100% money-back guarantee on 1st retainer, refundable on the unused balance and no hidden fees.
What are the best alternatives to Merritt Bookkeeping?
Top Merritt alternatives include Maxim Liberty (with plans starting at $75/month, 20+ years experience, BBB A+ rated), Bench Accounting (now under MainStreet), Pilot, and Bookkeeper360. Maxim Liberty offers the most comprehensive service with dedicated teams, 15+ software platforms, and industry-specific expertise.
Does Merritt Bookkeeping provide tax preparation?
Merritt’s published pages describe bookkeeping and a year-end handoff to your tax preparer; full tax preparation is not mentioned (checked 10 September 2026). For year-round tax-ready books and tax preparation support, Maxim Liberty maintains your financial records so your CPA receives clean, organized data at tax time.
Does Merritt Bookkeeping offer full accrual-basis accounting?
Merritt does not publish its accounting basis. We checked the home, pricing and how-it-works pages on merrittbookkeeping.com on 7 September 2026 and found no statement about cash or accrual basis either way. So we asked. Merritt told us its bookkeeping is cash basis by default, because it works only from your bank and credit card statements. If you maintain accounts payable and receivable yourself, you can hand Merritt those balances monthly or annually and it will post the adjustments, which converts cash-basis financials into accrual ones. Merritt has since confirmed that it does not do accrual-basis bookkeeping at all. The adjustment route is the only path to accrual financials, and it depends entirely on A/P and A/R ledgers that you maintain and hand over — Merritt posts the balances, it does not keep the accounts. The question is worth asking because Merritt sells a single package advertised as “Fixed $250/month,” so there is no higher tier to move up to if your books turn out to need accrual treatment. By comparison, Maxim Liberty states the basis up front: cash or accrual on every plan, from $75 a month.
Does Merritt Bookkeeping support fully outsourced bookkeeping?
No — and Merritt says so itself, on purpose. Their home page is unusually direct about scope: “We could sell you tax prep, payroll, and other services. But being the best means staying focused. We focus on just bookkeeping, so we can be the best at it!” (merrittbookkeeping.com, retrieved 7 September 2026). So payroll and tax preparation are out of scope by design, not by omission. On the rest of the back office, we could not find accounts payable, accounts receivable, invoicing or sales tax filing mentioned on the home, pricing or how-it-works pages (checked 7 September 2026), so treat those as unanswered rather than refused. What Merritt does publish is QuickBooks-based monthly books — “Uses QuickBooks. The industry standard” — at an advertised flat price with a full money-back guarantee. If clean monthly books are genuinely all you need, that focus is a real strength. If you need the back office run as well, Maxim Liberty covers A/P, A/R, payroll support, sales tax filing and daily reconciliations on its Enterprise plan at $300 a month, which includes 20 hours with additional hours at $15/hr.
Is hourly billing really less predictable than a flat rate?
On our own billing records, no — and once Merritt’s pricing is read properly, the crossover never arrives. Merritt’s strongest argument is predictability: one number every month, no hours to track. It is a fair point and it deserves an answer with arithmetic rather than assertion. Our Standard plan is $75 a month for 5 hours, with additional hours at $15/hr, so the bill is $75 + $15 × (hours − 5). Merritt advertises $250 a month, but that figure holds only to roughly 500 transactions; above it Merritt quotes $0.50 per transaction. Five hours covers about 300 transactions on our books, so 500 transactions is about 8.3 hours — and at that point our bill is $125 against Merritt’s $250. Past that threshold the two structures never converge. On the same 60-transactions-an-hour basis we use for our own plans, $0.50 per transaction works out to $30 an hour of equivalent work, exactly double our $15. The ratio holds at every volume: 600 transactions is $300 against our $150, and 1,200 transactions is $600 against our $300. There is no point at which the advertised rate becomes the cheaper option. The billing data says the same thing from the other direction. Across our complete invoice records for business-plan clients from August 2025 through July 2026, median actual usage was about 3.5 hours a month. 94% of clients on the 5-hour Standard plan were billed the plan minimum and nothing else — no overage hours at all across the entire twelve months — and more than half of all business-plan clients pay $75 a month or less. In practice the plan behaves like a flat rate for the overwhelming majority, at less than a third of $250, and the months you do need more are metered at $15/hr instead of pushing you into a bigger package. There is also a difference a flat fee conceals: predictability and visibility are not the same thing. A flat bill is certain precisely because it reports nothing — you never learn how many hours your books actually took, so you cannot tell whether $250 was fair value or a subsidy. We publish the hours worked on every statement. Here is the full breakdown of our actual billing data.
Ready to Cut Your Bookkeeping Costs?
Get a dedicated bookkeeper from $75/month with a 100% money-back guarantee on 1st retainer, refundable on the unused balance. No setup fees, no lock-in contracts.